h1

“Sarah, what happens when you fail?”

December 11, 2010

Not “IF”, “WHEN”.

A hard question. One that I was so surprised to be on the receiving end of, that I didn’t know how to respond. I somehow fumbled out a response of something resembling, “This is what God has asked me to do. How can I do anything but this, no matter how long it takes, or even if I don’t meet my start date goal ?”

I liked my answer….but I wasn’t really satisfied with it either.  But didn’t know how else to put it. And with my start date now (hopefully) very much so within reach, this question is very much on my mind. Is it His plan for me to start then? If it isn’t will I loose my motivation?………………. I have since been able to put a little bit more into my answer with the help of Admiral James Stockdale via an excerpt from M. Lucado’s Fearless:

“Trust in ultimate victory gives ultimate courage. Author Jim Collins makes reference to this outlook in his book “Good to Great”. Collins tells the story of Admiral James Stockdale, who was a prisoner of war for eight years during the Vietnam War.

After Stockdale’s release Collins asked him how in the world he survived eight years in a prisoner of war camp. He replied, “ I never lost faith in the end of the story. I never doubted not only that I would get out, but also that I would prevail in the end and turn the experience into the defining event of my life, which, in retrospect, I would not trade.”

Collins then asked, “who didn’t make it out?” Admiral Stockdale replied, “Oh, that’s easy. The optimists…they were the ones who said, ‘We’’re going to be out by Christmas.’ And Christmas would come, and Christmas would go. Then they’d say, ‘We’re going to be out by Easter.’ And Easter would come, and Easter would go. And then Thanksgiving and then it would be Christmas again. And they died of a broken heart.”

Real courage embraces the twin realities of current difficulty and ultimate triumph.(p. 156-7)”

So here’s to NOT being an optimist. To trusting in God’s ultimate victory over my finances and start date – no matter if I reach that start date or not.

But that doesn’t mean I’ve lost hope or am not praying for that date to happen.
On the contrary. I’m very much so praying for it.
Please join with me!

Leave a Reply

