h1

Sarah Barnes the Amazing Race Champion.

August 4, 2010

Or something like that.

We were more than prepared. Ready. Motivated. Excited.

Perhaps I should explain. Teams of two had raised funds for a local charity to compete in our own city’s version of “The Amazing Race”. The Day of the race arrived, and like I said, we were more than prepared. Ready. Motivated. Excited. We were going to win first place AND the prizes that went with it.

Armed with the tools of war paint, a bathing suit, water, sun screen, a pocketknife etc we set out on the race to do the following:

– not break an egg falling from a tree – We broke it.

– eat 2 jars of baby food – We drank them. (side note – mothers and fathers why are you feeding this stuff to your children? It doesn’t taste good!)

There were many other challenges along the way, and running from challenge to challenge I realized that even with all of our supplies and mental preparation, this was not enough.

(I think I need to work on my arm flexing pose a bit…)

What I learned/ lacked:

– I have not be physically training to keep my body in shape – making running between challenges more exhausting than it should have been.

Timing is key – we had ample supplies and did ALL the steps correctly – but the timing of certain tasks made us come in eighth place rather than 1st place like we had planned (eighth place meaning – LAST place, but you know, eight sounds better ; )……)

All of this seems to be a bit like faith eh? or like my current journey with Wycliffe. I might have all the supplies I think I need, but if I’m not training in the “regular” day to day things (praying, or reading my Bible etc etc) that when I do try  to “Run the Race” I won’t be able to serve Him with my fullest and best ability – even with the proper tools in hand.

1 Corinthians 9: 24-27 Don’t you realize that in a race everyone runs, but only one person gets the prize? So run to win! All atheletes are disciplined in their training. They do it to win a prize that will fade away, but we do it for an eternal prize. So I run with purpose in every step. I am not just shadowboxing. I discipline my body like an athelete, training it to do what it should. Otherwise, I fear that after preaching to others I myself might be disqualified. (NLT)

Hebrews 12: 1-12

Amazing Race: You’ve served me well, by providing a great reminder of how important running the DAILY race really is.

Leave a Reply

