h1

Haiti on the brain.

January 14, 2010

I can’t get Haiti out of my brain. I feel compelled to do something to help. But what? Should I just help out financially? Or should I do more? These are questions a friend of mine – a young adult – was asking yesterday(Wed Jan 13)….here’s some of what JC had to say:

It was not my intention to write you this afternoon, but as I gaze upon the image of suffering on the front page of today’s Globe and Mail, I am moved to action. I write in regards to the massive earthquake that devastated the island nation of Haiti last evening.
 
First off, it is my understanding that the Gilles family, as well as Joel, Alex….are all alive and well. Thank God! However as I’m sure you are aware, this is likely not the case for many in and around the capital, Port- au- Prince. Last night as I lay in my bed…awake and feeling useless, you folks came to mind….
 
This recent tragedy creates an unique opportunity for the advancement of His Kingdom in Haiti…if we act on it! For maybe only a day the focus of the world is on this tiny yet largely forgotten nation.That is why I invite you to a group prayer time tonight regarding this issue…Over the past day the walls of Facebook have been awash with prayer requests and status updates regarding this disaster. So I notion that we act upon these and rally to do what we can in the wake of such terrible event. At the meeting I will also be proposing some practical action steps we can take, with the goal of prompting our church leadership as well as our congregation into action.
Hope to see you there. Bring your friends, spread the word. Peace, JC”

 
For those of you who have been following my story with Wycliffe, you know that when I reach 100% funding I will be working (primarily)with Young Adults to mobilize them to actively engage in global missions.  So to say the least, this above message excites me a lot!!!  A young adult taking the initiative to respond to our neighbour’s needs without the prompting and directing of a church, missions committee, or pastor. We, the people, ARE the church. The hands and feet of Jesus.
I can’t wait to start working for Wycliffe to mobilize people to do just this. Vision 2025 is Wycliffe’s vision to see that a translation be started in every language needing the Word of God by the year 2025. With people this passionate to see that God’s love reaches everyone, Vision 2025 in 15 years will be an exciting reality. I’m honoured, humbled and excited as I think about how God might use us in in the days, weeks, and years to come.
So we’ve got “it” on the brain…What are we going to do about it?
 What are you and I going to do about Haiti?
Leave a Reply

