h1

“The better to see you with…”

November 21, 2009

So I just got a new eye prescription. My eyes changed again. sigh. but this time it was only one eye that got worse….not sure why. Sadly now my eyes are different prescriptions….my new contacts were ordered and I excitedly put them in to see the clear world in front of me. But I didn’t.

See a clear world, that is. My eyes started freaking out, it felt like there was dirt in my eye or something else that wasn’t supposed to be there!  I couldn’t see better, it fact my vision was worse!!! Had they messed up my prescription? They MUST have made a mistake! Maybe my prescription hadn’t changed at all!! (YAY!) One eye was blurry, then it would clear up and the other one would become blurry, it kept going back and forth! What in the world was going on!!?!

After about 5 minutes I finally saw what I had originally expected to see: the world in front of me in clear focus.

I think this can happen to us in “real life” too sometimes. Perhaps there is something in our life that needs to be changed, and we know it. Eventually we muster up the courage to make these changes that will alter our world as we know it. Maybe it’s getting a new job, or getting rid of a bad habit, or doing daily devotions……whatever it is we begin making the necessary changes!  And frequently we expect the change to be instanteous, smooth and an easy transition. Often it isn’t. And then the self doubt brings it’s pretty little voice inside our head, saying things like: this isn’t what it’s supposed to be like! You must have made a mistake! Things really were better and easier before! I shouldn’t be doing this! I don’t know why I decided to do this in the first place!…  

Sound familiar? It certainly does to me! When I’ve had self doubt assail me (for whatever reason) in these last few years, I like to return to my original reasons for making my decision. (In this case, the reason for new contacts.) These reasons remind me why I am where I am and help me reevaluate whether I was off base when I made that decision. So if you too have recently made a necessary adjustment in your life, just give it some time and stick it out! Soon your vision will clear up too!

“I lift my eyes to the hills – where does my help come from?

My help comes from the Lord, the Maker of heaven and earth…..

The Lord will keep you from all harm – He will watch over your life”

Psalm 121: 1,2,7

One comment

  1. wonderful post. i love your comments. thanks



Leave a Reply

