h1

41…40…39…

November 16, 2009

The count down is on! 41 days. 41 days until Intervarsity’s URBANA. I was there three years ago and it was an incredibly unforgettable experience. If you’d like company  in figuring out what God’s calling on your life is, this is definitely the place for you!  Two things stand out in my mind from my experience in 2006: the MUSIC and Brenda Salter McNeil.

rev_dr_brenda_salter_mcneil[1]

Brenda Salter McNeil knows how to bring it. Are you feeling discouraged? regretting choices you’ve made? Feel like you’ve settled in life? Wishing you had the energy to go after those dreams you were at one time were so gung-ho to accomplish? If you’re looking for some encouragement  – the is the clip for you to watch.

Anytime I start to forget where I’m headed, or even why I want to go there, I rewatch her msg. I’ve watched it umpteen times. Oh yes, and did I mention she was coming back to URBANA again this year, and that there was still room for more people?!?!

u2006.worshipcd.2006cd[1]

Music. It’s funny. It sometimes takes time to value things for what they are. The first day there, we (over 22,000 people from around the world!) were introduced to new worship music – some of which was in languages I couldn’t understand. And to tell the truth, I HATED IT. PERIOD.  Why must I sing these songs that I couldn’t even understand?? (If you’d like to hear a sampling of this music you can do so here – then scroll down until you reach the song list.) But as the days went on I began to wonder why I had so strongly opposed this music in the first place…. So much so in fact that months after returning home, I was still anxiously awaiting the Urbana 2006 CD release date, when I could purchase my own copy of this most incredible worship music. And I’m NOT a music buyer. I think part of what changed my mind was the incredible beauty and power of over 20.000 people coming together as the Body of Christ – that and of course the awesome music. I can’t wait to see what music’s in store this year!

Thought to comment on: how would you feel singing or reading words you couldn’t fully understand?

Leave a Reply

